Contemplating the Unknown…

IMG_1435

So far, I’ve received  an overwhelming amount of encouragement from everyone who has heard about my trip. It’s certainly a great feeling to see people’s faces light up with excitement when I give them the full details of my project and my counties. Some common feedback and questions that I often get from people is “Aren’t you nervous about what you’ll find in the countries?” and “OMG, aren’t you scared being alone for a year”. I often don’t how to respond to the first question because I honestly don’t feel nervous at all. Maybe it’s because I have studied abroad a couple of times or maybe I haven’t fully grasped the idea of traveling around the world for a year.

I’ve been thinking a lot about the year thats ahead of me and I guess the reason I’m not nervous is because the Watson is an experiential project that can’t be predicted prior to arrival. In a sense if I can anticipate everything that would happen throughout the year then I wouldn’t really gain anything from it. With that being said, the only thing I’m truly nervous about is the logistical aspects of traveling and the challenges they bring. For instance, I often imagine myself being stuck at an airport because I can’t be granted a visa or better yet not finding a location to do my project. I believe I’ll definitely be able to deal challenges as they come and I believe that also applies to the first question people ask me when I tell them about my project.

With regards to the second common question, which is “OMG, aren’t you scared being alone for a year”, I am 100% certain that I wouldn’t be alone. I know I am going to meet amazing individuals who will make my stay in each country absolutely worth it. I contemplated with that question a lot when I first traveled to South Africa and it never happened like I imagined. In South Africa, I spent about a month in a rural area where people barely spoke any english and I can honestly say that I had the best time in the rural area. So I definitely believe being alone would not be a challenge for me, I’ve learned to be resourceful over the years and I always find a way to get the best out of situations. Additionally, I know my family and friends wholeheartedly support my journey and I know that the memories and I support I have from everyone will definitely keep me comfortable if I ever end up alone.

On another note, people have been pretty adamant that I post pictures often. I will absolute do that when possible. The only challenge is that I have a bad habit of “going native” where I get very involved with new cultures and people that I tend to forget I’m an outsider. With that being said, I know being are very interested in what I will discover and learn so I promise to make blog posts often and also take lots of pictures to make everyone happy :).

Leave a Reply

