Akwaaba (Welcome)

IMG_0961

Dandelions are usually thought of as weeds but I think they stand for the many possibilities the future holds. I took this picture in a rural South African community where I was studying community health. Like everyone does, I made a wish and blew the seeds away. My wish was to someday get the opportunity to travel to places like South Africa where I can learn more about myself through my engagement with others. Little did I know that in a matter of a year, I will be preparing for another life changing journey. I know there are many challenges  waiting for me out there. Regardless, I am as open as ever for these experiences as they will impact my life in amazing ways. Its like my grandmother always used to say “If you don’t get lost, you’ll never learn”. I will make sure to keep this virtual notepad updated with details and updates of my journey as they come.

Leave a Reply

